Rhubarb Spring Dessert

It’s spring time and one of the first things from my garden is rhubarb, just ready for the cutting.  My family’s favorite rhubarb dessert is a recipe given to me by my mom.

blog recipe copy

I have a bad habit of getting my recipes looking “spilled on” when I bake.  So I typed all my favorite recipes that were in her hand writing, printed and inserted them into page protecting sheets.  This way, I can add more pages to my binder of recipes and also print more for the recipe binders that I gave to each of our children.  Now my mom’s recipes will be handed down to the future generations.

rhubarb dessert

                                                  Rhubarb Torte

2 cups Flour                             1 cup Water
½ cup Oatmeal, quick             1 cup Sugar
1 cup Brown Sugar                  8 to 10 cups cut Rhubarb
¾ cup Butter, melted              1 cup Strawberries, sliced
3 Tbsp. Cornstarch                  ¾ cup Walnuts, chopped

Mix together flour, oatmeal, brown sugar, melted butter, & chopped walnuts (optional) for a crust.  Put into a 9 x 13 pan.  Save ¾ cup for topping.  Place cut (1/2 inch pieces) rhubarb & strawberries (small pieces) into pan.  In a large glass mixing bowl, stir cornstarch, water, & sugar together.  Place in microwave on high until thickened, but not lumpy.  Pour mixture over fruit.  Add remaining crumbs as a topping.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes to 1 hour until fruit is baked and crumbs are a light brown color.  Let cool and can be served with whipped cream.

6 thoughts on “Rhubarb Spring Dessert

    1. Neva Post author

      Glad you asked. A harder crust is achieved by pressing them down into the pan. You will have a softer crust by not pressing them down into the pan. The rhubarb doesn’t create much juice, so the crust won’t absorb much moisture and stays crisper. Enjoy.

      Reply
  1. Neva Post author

    Thanks Christi, it’s a fave of ours. As I mentioned to Auntidoni, A harder crust is achieved by pressing the crumbs down into the pan. You will have a softer crust by not patting them down into the pan. The rhubarb doesn’t create much juice, so the crust won’t absorb much moisture and stays crisper. Enjoy.

    Reply
    1. Neva Post author

      So do I, and this one is my favorite. But then there’s Rhubarb Crisp and… It’s worth the extra hour of working out at the fitness center.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

